C25K Week 6: The Secret Runner’s Club

So, I haven’t updated my C25k journey in a while, so here ya’ have it!  I am successfully in the middle of Week 6 out of 9, and I did a 5K loop yesterday to see how I would do (the same one I completed here.)  I did it in 41 minutes, with 31 minutes of running and 10 minutes of brisk walking.  Not too bad for someone who could hardly huff-and-puff her way through one minute of running at the beginning of the program!

Today, terror struck my tootsies.  My feet are KILLING me.  All I could do was hobble around work today, because the pain was so intense.  That said, I think it is time to get my butt to a running store and get fitted for a good pair of shoes what will support my feet.

I am not blind to the fact that I am an overweight runner (obese, actually, if you want to get technical.)  I am coming to find that it is not as much of an obstacle as I perceived it to be in the beginning, other than my feet.  When I first started, I avoided sidewalks along roads like the plague, for fear people would be watching me and judging me.  Runners are supposed to be long, lean, and graceful, not plow down the pavement like a tank.  That agitation has subsided.  Now, when I breeze past people on the pavement, I am starting to feel like an insider, like there is a secret club of runners out there and I am starting the initiation process.  Yesterday, while I was doing my 5k run, another runner and I crossed paths.  She was a bit overweight, like myself, and we both gave each other a knowing smile, as if to say, “I see you are part of the club, too!”

I am holed up inside today, because of my feet.  But, it gave me time for reflection, and I am thankful for that!

Leave a Reply

