Grand Rapids: My Favorite City on the Planet!

I would like to qualify that I am a well-traveled person.  From Madrid, to Paris, to Bangkok, I’ve been to a lot l of cities.  But, by far, my favorite city in the world is only an hour and a half away from where I live.  Good people, good food, art (STEAMPIG!), and plenty of places to walk put it on the top of my list of places I would like to live one day.

Last weekend, I visited my friend, Rachel, before she moves to Vermont to get her masters in  comic art.

One of the things on my bucketlist-in-my-mind is learning how to make jam, which Rachel is a pro at!  So, we went to the farmer’s market (which is HUGE compared to Mount Pleasant’s!) and got some strawberries to make strawberry rhubarb jam!

Rachel just eyeballs her measurments, but I CAN tell you that we used 2 quarts of strawberries and a couple hand fulls of rhubarb.  Rachel also likes to use WINE when making jam…

She taught me to always boil my jars before using them, so mold doesn’t grow in them!

Put about 1/3 of a bottle of white wine, strawberries, and rhubarb on to simmer and this…

Will turn into this…

Add about a cup of sugar sugar and a half packet of this stuff…

And you have three jars of jam!

Just another amazing times in Grand Rapids with one my my favorite friends!

More Grand Rapids magic to come!

Leave a Reply

