Detroit Dreams

My post-graduation life has been a mixed bag of blessings and trials.  I’ve come to find that even the trials have been blessings in their own right, leading me to growth.

Teaching in Detroit right now is hard.  I feel for teachers who have been “in the game” here for longer than my humble two-and-change months.  Growing up in Metro Detroit, the “city proper” has always been a gloomy “other.”  Even though I lived a short drive from it’s depths, my perspective of it was no better than T.V. cliche’s about crime, poverty, and crumbling dreams.  But, as I pass in and out of the city on a daily basis, I can’t help but see it through an an artistic-optimistic eye.  There are a lot of changes happening in Detroit, and it’s schools are part of re-birthing process.  As my colleagues run around like chickens afraid of storm clouds on the horizon, I see the clouds for the refreshment that they’ll bring.  Being a teacher in Detroit will be hard for a while (and I am not even touching upon the social obstacles that my students face.)  The color pink has never been such a gloomy color.  I don’t even know if I will be employed come August. However, it is exciting to be a part of something (that I believe is) good.  

I may be tired at the end of the day.  I may feel like I am never doing well enough, or measuring up, but I am content to be a small cog in the big picture.  

Leave a Reply

